I love design. I love color. I love layouts. I LOVE typography. Although I ended up being a graphic designer, it did not start out that way. Originally I was supposed to be a pharmacist, dispensing out pills to customers, while what I really wanted to do was to be creative. Not necessarily in a I-spend-all-day-painting-while-suffering-for-my-art kind of a creative, but creative in a way that had very real results for people. At the time I didn’t really know who created logos, how ads came about, I just knew that these things were done at agencies. I didn’t know anything about account executives, proofs, fonts and all the good stuff. So, I finally decided to take the leap and go for it, somehow knowing that this is what I really wanted to do, and I never looked back.

Now that I’ve been working in the field for several years, I’ve come to look through everything with design colored glasses. Everywhere I go I notice type, every piece of junk mail I get is analyzed, IT JUST NEVER STOPS! Inspiration can strike at any time, but that’s not to say that there isn’t a whole lot of hard work that goes into it. I think most people think that it takes about 5 minutes to think up and lay out an ad, or a website, or especially a logo. Even though that logo looks very simple, trust me, it DEFINITELY took longer than 5 minutes. But that’s a whole other story, kids.

Having worked in the science field before switching to design, it has definitely influenced my design aesthetic. Plants, nature and animals usually seem to find a way into my work, with lots of textures and organic elements. I also love the retro style, and I’ve been influenced by the fifties (I LOVE Elvis) since I was in my early ‘teens. I’m also very interested in the Victorian era, and am reading all I can about it. And I guess that right there is what I really, really love about design. I can have a huge variety of interests, and I am always learning something new, a new technique, a new idea, which can then fuse together and create something very relevant and unique for a client.

3 responses to “

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Design « -- Topsy.com

  2. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  3. Thank you very much Christian that’s very sweet of you. It’s much appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

